Pushing Through

June 20

Miles: 15

Location: Peter’s​ Mt Shelter (just north of Duncannon PA)

Weather: a little warm for my taste, but otherwise nearly perfect

Complaint of the Day: The water source at this shelter is a quarter mile away, down a very steep hill. Someone counted that there were just over 600 steps down to the spring. Not at all what I want to see when I come in to camp after a long day of hiking.

Today I slept in a little bit- almost 6:30- and then I hiked into town. I didn’t need to do much in town, groceries mainly, but I also went to the laundromat to clean my clothes. My clothes were fairly smelly, but I was a little reluctant to spend my time and money at the laundromat knowing that all my clothes are just going to get crazy sweaty and smelly within a day or two regardless of what I did. But I went anyway, as much for the chance to fully charge my phone and extra battery as much as anything. 

I was tempted to stop in Duncannon and stay at one of the cheap hostels in town, but I have too many miles to go to take a day off here. Instead I pushed on another 11 rock filled miles to this shelter. Maybe I’ll splurge and get a hotel room in the next town.

I feel​ like I have lots more important thoughts to share, but it is getting late and I can barely keep my eyes open as it is. You will just have to wait.

Leave a comment