Easy

August 19

Miles: 16 (2044/2188)

Location: Pleasant Pond Lean-to

Weather: Cloudy and slightly drizzly this morning, but clearing and warming up by the afternoon

Complaint of the Day: Just downhill from this shelter, maybe 100 yards away through the woods, is some sort of construction site. We can’t see it at all through the trees, but we can definitely hear them. Sounds like they are replacing a roof or something on someone’s cabin. They have been at it all afternoon. The constant racket they are making is destroying the wilderness feel this place would have otherwise. I just hope they are finished for the day before I go to bed at 8:00.

Today was the simplest and easiest day I have had in a while that didn’t involve staying at a hostel. I got up a little early and hiked in the 10 easy miles into the town of Caratunk, taking the free canoe shuttle across the big river to get to the town. Once there I picked up my package at the hostel and proceeded to spend about two hours just sitting there eating food and charging my phone. I left there a little after 1:00 and hiked another 6 miles to the next shelter. The trail was super easy so I could have kept going I suppose, but there was no other place to stop for at least 5 miles, and besides, I was really happy to be able to finish early for once. I took a bit of a nap this afternoon after setting up in the shelter and it was quite nice. I have been pushing myself a little too hard lately. 

The other big news of the day is that I finally committed to an end date– I bought tickets for my flight back home to Alaska for August 30th. That means I have to summit Katahdin by the 28th, or the 29th at the absolute latest. It shouldn’t be too tough to pull off, but it does feel a little different having this firm commitment over my head. 

Leave a comment