Getting Close

August 26

Miles: 19

Location: Rainbow Lake tentsite

Weather: Pretty much perfect again. I’m hoping it stays this nice for just a few more days…

Complaint of the Day: Why couldn’t the trail be as nice and easy as it was yesterday? It wasn’t hard today, but yesterday spoiled me. 

Getting so close…

Almost there.

Today I had a great breakfast at the hostel and then took the boat shuttle back across the lake to the trail and away I went. The trail today was again quite nice, but still more work than yesterday. 

Katahdin is getting closer. I have seen it from several different viewpoints over the last two days. It is the biggest mountain in the area so it sticks out a bit. 

The closer it gets the more motivated I am to get there. Which is a shame, in a weird way. The Hundred Mile Wilderness is so nice that hikers should want to take their time to go through it. It would be so nice to take a couple of extra days and camp along some of these streams, swim in more of these lakes, listen to more loons, and just enjoy the last few miles. But nope. Even if I didn’t have a deadline to finish, I would still feel the magnetic pull of that mountain drawing me in to the finish line, forcing me to race past all this other beautiful stuff.

Tomorrow, I need to do the last 21 miles to get to the base of the mountain and then hopefully reach the summit the following day. Almost there…

Leave a comment