Last Little Bit

August 27

Miles: 21 (2184/2189)

Location: The Birches Campsite, Baxter State Park

Weather: Perfect, again (Northern Maine has spoiled me. I am okay with that)

Complaint of the Day: The Birches Campsite is a campsite that Baxter SP sets aside especially for thru-hikers. For some strange reason they put this campsite almost half a mile down the road from the trail and no where near any water source. And we still have to pay $10 to camp here. 

Last stop before the end of the trail. One more day. 

Katahdin, the final goal.

Today was a long day. I did 21 miles to get here. It was 21 pretty easy and flat miles, but it is still 21 miles. The smart and logical part of my brain has tried to tell me to take the day off tomorrow so that I am rested when I head up to the summit, but I won’t be listening to that part of my brain. I am this close, I am not going to take a break now. I can rest after I finish. 

Leave a comment